Castle of St. John of the Eagles
Impressive ruins dating from the 18th century. A climb to the top will be rewarded by an incredible panoramic view of the town and its surroundings. Plans for the restoration of the castle are in hand and work will shortly begin.
Access is easy by way of a recently constructed footpath; approach from Calle murillo opposite Plaza Robles near the harbour.
Recently restored ruins of a 16th century watch-tower. Torre de Cope has been destroyed and rebuilt many times during its long history. A silent witness to numerous sea battles, it suffered relentless attacks from the North African coast. Situated in Bahía de Cope, just past the town of Calabardina, some 9kms. From the centre of Aguilas.
A most interesting iron pier built by the British South Eastern Railway Company at the end of the 19th century; this ingenious construction, used to load ships with iron ore, commenced operation in the year 1903 and is similar to those already in existence at that time in Huelva and Bilbao. No longer in use but well worth a visit, it can easily be reached being situated at the eastern end of the town in Bahía del Hornillo.
An 18th century Dovecot built in the style of an impressive tower and the only remaining evidence of the Casa Grande within those protective walls the inhabitants of Aguilas sought refuge during the many attacks upon the town. Its interior is in ruins but the exterior has survived remarkably well despite the lack of maintenance.
Access is almost impossible as the tower is situated on private property surrounded by cultivated fields.
However, it can be easily seen whilst driving along the ring road on the western side of town.
The Railway Monument
An old steam locomotive, built in Glasgow, in Scotland and one of the first to be used in Aguilas by the South Eastern Railway Company; it now stands as a tribute to the railway and its contribution to the economic development of the town.
A small island with a fascinating story. Inhabited since Roman times, though now deserted, ruins of that period can still be seen. Amphoras and plates of the 4th century have been found there together with fragments of Sigillata Girls a variety of pottery.
Garum, a drink much enjoyed by the early inhabitants of the region, was once made here in large quantities.
Glorieta de la Plaza de España
Originally laid down in 1874, one of the most beautiful of Spanish Plazas boast a wonderful collection of rare plants and shrubs all growing in the shade of tall palms and other trees. In the centre is the fountain known locally as Pava de la Balsa an unusual name for what appears to be a goose. The Plaza is surrounded by a variety of buildings most notable is that of the Ayuntamiento which is in the Neomudejar style.
Fortified Towers of Tebar and Chuecos
Two watch-towers, both now almost completely in ruins, completed the system of defence for the town; from both could be seen any marauders approaching from an inland direction. They are situated a top very high hills to the north of the town and can only be reached after an arduous climb.